Are our friends like shoes?

So, a few weeks ago I compared our “just in case” guy to a pair of granny panties.

This week, I have a new comparison.

Ready for it?

Here ya go…

Sometimes we treat our friends like our favorite pair of shoes.

You know the ones.

In my case, it’s a pair of black high heels. Not only because they are cute and go with everything, but they are unbelievably comfortable. I could probably run a marathon in them. They are always my go-to dancing shoes.

You’d think that because I love them so much, I’d take extra special care of them. I’d avoid puddles, not tug on the strap or scuff the bottoms, maybe even give them a good cleaning every once in a while.

Yeah… not so much.

Instead, I take them for granted. I think they’ll always be here to get me through a funeral or a particularly exhausting girls night. And afterwards, I take them off and throw them in the closet with all of my others shoes, only to pull them out again when I need them for something.

Sadly, we can often treat our friends like our go-to shoes. We use and abuse them, never quite taking care of them the way we should. We think, hey, they’re always going to be here for me.

The problem is, even the best pair of heels will snap under too much pressure.

So my advice? Take care of what you love. Treat them right and don’t take them for granted. Maybe even pamper them once in a while.

After all, what’s a girl without her favorite pair of shoes?

Clearly they need a little lovin'

Clearly they need a little lovin’

Soooo... whatchya thinkin'?